URBAN AMBITION: Assessing the Evolution of L.A.

Symposium at the Getty Center,
Los Angeles, May 30/31, 2013

modern architecture in l.a., participants: christopher hawthorne, anthony vidler, mia lehrer, eric owen moss, frederick and laurie samitaur smith, christopher alexander, hitoshi abe, neil denari, craig hodgetts, peter noever (among others)

Excerpt from Peter Noever’s contribution:

Documentation on art, architecture and program activities
at the MAK Center L.A., Houses by Rudolf M. Schindler
Percept: Peter Noever
Video production and design: Zone, Vienna

Richard Neutra and Rudolf M. Schindler at Schindler’s
visionary house, Kings Road, West Hollywood

Konstantin Stepanovich Melnikov and his wife at the
construction site of his visionary house in Moscow

Melnikov House in Moscow after realisation

Manifesto for the Melnikov House, 2005

Exceptional artists and architects from L.A. were invited
demonstrate their ideas in Vienna (short selection)

Site specific installation by Chris Burden. Exhibition
“Chris Burden. Beyond the Limits”, MAK, Vienna, 1996

Raymond Pettibon: “Wall Drawing”, 15 meters long,
MAK, Vienna/Austria, 2000 
(painted over after the show,
as agreed between the artist and curator Peter Noever)

Frank O. Gehry, Gehry’s Santa Monica Residence, 1978
(architectural model) An early key work of the architect
and now an icon of the MAK architecture collection

Greg Lynn, exhibition “Intricate Surfaces” at the MAK,
Vienna, 2003, on the occasion of his appointment as professor
of architecture at the University of Applied Arts, Vienna

Eric Owen Moss, “Here Comes The Blind Commissioner.
(They've Got Him In A Trance – With Apologies To Bob Dylan)”,
permanent installation, 2010, MAK CAT
Contemporary Art Tower, Vienna

Exhibition opening of “Dennis Hopper – System of Moments”,
MAK Vienna, 2001

Liz Larner, exhibition and permanent installation
“I thought I saw a pussycat”, 1998, MAK Vienna

An annual jury with leading artists, architects and curators
is one of the premises of the international renowned MAK
center residency program.
Jury members 2007: Georges Adéagbo, Peter Noever,
Roberto Ohrt, Eric Owen Moss, Iara Boubnova